Struggling to stay sane

My whole adult life I have struggled with mental illness.  When I was 17 I started hearing these voices talking to me.  One claimed to be a young teenage boy who told me had grown up in my childhood neighborhood of Chevy Chase, MD.  The other claimed to be my mom who died when I was 9.  They started telling me things about my life with such accuracy that I believed I had acquired a 6th sense.  By the time I was 19, my doctor diagnosed me as schizophrenic.  I really didn’t know much about the illness at the time so, naturally, I was a little scared.  Soon after my diagnosis, I went to see the movie “a beautiful mind” in theaters.  For those who don’t know, it is the true story of a brilliant man with a bad case of paranoid schizophrenia.  When the movie was over, I was terrified.  I kept rocking in my seat and sobbing because I was afraid that I would have the same fate as this man.  The friend I was with assured me I was going to be ok.
I had my first four hospitalizations at age 23 because I felt my mind was completely out of control.  I almost felt like there were times I couldn’t control my physical actions either.  I was not dangerous but I was still afraid of what I could possibly do without my own control over the situation.

To be continued…

Leave a comment